Since 1876, when The Industrial School for Deaf Mutes was established as a pioneering school for the Deaf by William Swett, great progress has been made. From a name change to Beverly School for the Deaf in 1920 to a broader mission and comprehensive name change in 2008, The Children’s Center for Communication/Beverly School for the Deaf’s foundation remains more in demand than ever. While our mission had adapted and new technologies have been incorporated, we continue to promote educational opportunities for Deaf or Hard of Hearing children and children with complex communication needs.
Tuition, however, does not cover the full cost of our students’ education. Fundraising is essential and continues to grow at a steady pace. We tell our story to many friends through social media, our website, tours, events, and word of mouth. Our special events, the Spring Soiree and Lone Gull 10K, annual fund and foundation support allow us to purchase ‘extras’, giving our students the latest technology, improved curriculum, the best equipment and an exceptional overall school experience.